Never to early for a Cuckoo Christmas

As I mentioned in a previous post, I signed up for Lilla Roger’s Make Art That Sells Assignment Bootcamp which started the beginning of February. We were given the theme of Cuckoo clocks and an assignment to design a phone case. I spent the first week sketching and painting. The second and third week I used Illustrator and Photoshop to turn my sketch into a completed design.

I have to tell you. That first week was an intimidating and humbling process. I tried to remind myself that I needed to focus on just having fun with my art. I think it was when I finally allowed myself to relax that I drew something I liked enough to use for the assignment.

Here is what my design looked like before I added colour. I wanted to see how the design would look on a phone.

melanieritchiemockup

Here is my submission to the gallery:

febMATSbootmockup-lores

I decided to open up a Society6 shop to sell my artwork. Might as well, right? So far I just have the one piece but I hope to fill it with joy soon.

I cannot wait for our March assignment!

3 thoughts on “Never to early for a Cuckoo Christmas

  1. Nancie says:

    Mel this turned out so great! I just love all the little details! I think I need to take a class from you on coloring – seriously I fell in love with the BW version on sight but know I can’t decide which I like better because the colors are so yummy! What will next week bring!? :)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

