It’s a Beautiful Day!

Joyous moments. Ordinary moments. Challenging Moments. They are all we have. I had a busy day taking care of kids and doing yard work (gardening, planting, cleaning). My daughter wanted to put out the sprinkler and the baby pool. We’ve never put it in the front yard before but I figured we’d be wild and free and try it just this once. After shoveling mulch for 30 minutes, I sat on the porch and watched the kids play. We really had one of our best afternoons ever. My daughter was running around laughing and said she was having fun just like when she was little. She is five and is already nostalgic for the past.

While watching out over my yard, I was reminded of someone who has recently passed on. For the past couple of years, I always think of her when I look out at my yard from the porch. Simply because she once commented on a certain scrapbook layout I had posted in an online gallery. I don’t know why it stuck with me but whenever I see the curve of my sidewalk and the row of plants, I think of her. So today, as I enjoyed the moment, I was also very much aware of how little we control our lives and how life can pass by so quickly.

Lisa Tauzell (LisaTaz) was a very talented and prolific digital scrapbooker. She was young with a husband and three daughters. We had crossed paths many times in online classes, galleries, and creative teams. While we were not more than online acquaintances, I was saddened when I heard she was ill. It crossed my mind often the past year or so. My heart went out to her and the incredible heartache she must have felt knowing she would have to leave her girls behind, and the heartache her girls and husband must feel. She left this earthly world just over a month ago and I think of her and her family often. I imagine her scrapbooking gave her comfort knowing she was passing on invaluable love and information in those pages. I’m sure all her efforts will be treasured.

Here is that layout (which links to the gallery where she posted) Lisa commented on. It is funny because it wasn’t the only layout of mine she had ever commented on, and other people left comments on this layout too. Somehow her comments on this one left such an impression. Curious.

frontyard160

I miss you, Lisa.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Beautiful Day!

  1. Janet Carr says:

    WOW!!!! What a poignant post Melanie!!!! And such a beautiful tribute to Lisa!!!!! Yes, life happens fast and you just never know!!! Gorgeous LO, beautiful journaling and heartfelt post!!!! LOVE!!!

    P.S.> twilight is my favorite time too… always has been!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

