Learning to Dance in the Rain

What a week! I’ve been struggling with a chest cold the past week and a half. Just not a good time. Even got myself to my meditation class on Wednesday. Had to leave after two minutes when I had a fit of coughing. Oh well, at least I tried, right?

For most of the week or so I just didn’t have the energy or focus to do much of anything other than look after my kids. My mind got bit of a break and by Thursday I had all these fabulous ideas in my head. So, yesterday morning my son and I got out the paints. He did his own art thing while I gessoed a canvas.

Nearly a year ago, I repinned an art project I’d seen on Pinterest from Southern Belle Soul, Mountain Bride Heart. It looked pretty fabulous. I believe the artist was inspired by Elsie Larson who did a similar project on her site A Beautiful Mess. Whatever the case, I wanted to try it out.

The thing is, I don’t really follow instructions well. It’s not that I don’t want to. It’s that I decide to do projects on a whim and am not going to trek out to a craft store in search of necessary supplies. I’ll just make do with what I have. So, I did.

Yesterday, I gessoed my canvas. Then I covered the canvas in bits of newspaper and colouring book pages. My daughter had a meltdown when she saw I’d pasted a page from her Strawberry Shortcake colouring book. I felt bad about that. I thought it was a lovely tribute but she felt I was destroying her artwork. Oops. I apologized. Anyway, I *think* she forgives me. I spent the afternoon thinking up what text to put on my artwork. I found something I liked and sketched it out on paper.

wallartblog1

wallartblog2

Someone got a little blue paint all over their face. He was happy.

I didn’t have any vinyl letters like in the tutorials so I thought maybe I could just cut out letters with my Silhouette. After the kids were in bed, I made a design in Illustrator and then imported it into my Silhouette software. I love that I was able to use my own handwriting for the script words.

I also figured out the configuration for my wall art collection. You see, the other day I moved a cabinet to the other side of the room. I decided the wall would be great filled with various pictures and paintings. My husband kindly nodded to my brilliant idea. Wise, very wise. So, last night I put all the pictures on the floor and sketched out where they should go.

This morning, while my son ate his bagel, I cut out the text on my Silhouette. I have the original machine. After 5 1/2 years I’m finally getting some decent use out of it. Of course, now I want the cameo and the designer software.

Then I got out my picture hanging supplies and put up all the pictures. My son was my helper. As in, he watched Handy Manny and answered “Yes!” when I asked if my pictures looked good.

wallartblog3

I went down to the kitchen and mixed some paint with a vague idea of what colour might work on my painting. I had bought adhesive spray years ago and thought I’d adhere the letters to my canvas temporarily with the spray. Um, well, no. The spray would not work. So I dabbed a bit of glue stick and hoped for the best. I very carefully (my haphazard version of careful) dabbed over the letters so the paint wouldn’t get underneath and to create a seal. Then I began to paint the rest of the canvas. That was when my son wanted to help paint. Eeks! I let him. It was ok until he accidentally smudged my “LIFE” letters. Ah well, fixable.  I added a few more layers of paint. Removed the letters. Yay, it worked! Covered with a coat of clear gesso. I let it dry while we got my daughter off her bus. We ate lunch and then I was able to hang up my painting. Now I just have to figure out what to put on the rest of my empty canvases.

wallartblog4

wallartblog5 wallartblog6 wallartblog7

Come back soon and I’ll show you updates of my craft room (tv room/playroom/office/guest bedroom) as I get things in order.

One thought on “Learning to Dance in the Rain

Leave a Reply

