One Little Word 2013 Blog Hop: January in Review

OLWbloghopLOGOI’m taking the One Little Word class by Ali Edwards at Big Picture Classes. It’s a year-round class and you can start anytime. Every month on the 1st you receive your prompt challenge for the month. A group of class participants are using their blogs to share their thoughts on the month’s topic.

This month I did several posts about my One Little Word. I revealed my word here. I shared how my word choice was beginning to impact my life here. I posted photos of my first month assignment here. To see all my posts listed, go to the top menu bar under “Documenting Life” and click on One Little Word.

After choosing my word and completing my first prompt, I began to focus on the intention I’d chosen for January. Authentic Self. The action phrases I chose were: Be honest with yourself; Quiet the Critics; and to Just be yourself. That’s what I want to talk about today.

janbloghopself

I thought it important to start the year off focusing on the heart of the matter: me. My self.

I try to be honest with myself all the time. I think the human mind is pretty tricky. It does a good job of hiding itself from the truth. Sometimes I mentally beat myself up and feel down about all my perceived failures and weaknesses. Yet there are often times when I can’t see my faults. They’re in my shadow; they’re peeking around corners; they’re hiding just out of sight. Sometimes it is hard to admit you are wrong. This month I’m trying to be more aware of all aspects of myself. Even the stuff I don’t want to see.

Which leads me to “Quiet the Critics“. The biggest critic being me. The voice in my thoughts that tells me I’m wrong, that I’m not good enough, that I’m bad. Whether it be something as simple as feeling too lazy to vacuum, or wanting to keep sleeping in the morning. It doesn’t matter that I do end up vacuuming, and that by 8am I am sipping coffee in the living room. The critic in me feels victory that I even felt lazy. What I do accomplish seems to matter little. So, it is important that I learn to find ways to lessen the impact of my inner critic. Give it a big ole SHHH!!!

Additionally, I care too much what other people think. I need to quiet those critics simply by not caring so much. My solution is to just be myself more. To not try to please, to not try to quiet my personality, but to accept myself for who I am. If I can have that inner strength and acceptance, the thoughts of others won’t matter so much. I recently read a quote that struck a chord with me. It basically said that what other people think of you is none of your business. I hadn’t really thought of it that way and it is true. It isn’t my business. I should stop being so nosy about it!

Here’s a photo of myself I took on Instagram the other day. I’m going to add it into my One Little Word album. It’s the good version of how I see my self in my mind. Nevermind the irony that it has a couple filters added to it. In my heart, this is me.

IMG_2313

For me, this month was about quiet observation. My goal was not to change anything about myself. Rather to consider who I think I am and observe who I actually am. It was more an evaluation and taking stock of myself so that I can decide how to navigate my year with authenticity.

Thanks for sharing in my experience. Please come back again! I might even have a goody or two to share next time.

Make sure to visit all the blogs. You came from KELLY’s Blog. Next up is VALERIE’s Blog. Be sure to hop again with us next month!

15 thoughts on “One Little Word 2013 Blog Hop: January in Review

  1. Lee says:

    Be yourself more is a great plan 🙂 I really enjoyed your words and look forward to the year ahead! Thanks for joining the hop – and for designing such a great button for the participants.

    Like

  2. Karen DiPasquale says:

    What an admirable quest. We live in an age of cosmetic surgery, and diet pills. Most people seem to be running away from the person within. Bravo!

    Like

  3. Naomi Wittlin says:

    I identify with you in so many ways, Melanie! I am my harshest critic for sure and I need to be kinder toward myself. I must learn to quiet those “shoulds” and stop feeling guilty for treating myself to rest every so often. Authentic is an EXCELLENT word choice. I really look forward to reading more about your year. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

